Crocheting Cacti and Missing the Desert

I’m so sorry I’ve been away so long, dear blog friends. Work has been very busy, making for very tired evenings, making for long stretches of inactivity over here.

I haven’t stopped crocheting in this little hiatus, however. Most nights are spent huddled on my futon, crocheting from dinner to bedtime. My partner and I have breezed through watching “Rome” and are midway through “Vikings.” If you have a favorite historical drama you could recommend we watch next, I’d love to hear about it!

A few different things have come off my hook, but what I’m most proud of and excited to share with you are five amigurumi cacti. These ones are a good bit larger than my first line (which I blogged about here), in part because I couldn’t find as small of pots as I had before. Since the cacti themselves turned out so large, I of course had to adorn them with large flowers. Things quickly got very wild.

tumblr_oe2obnzpbk1qbpubso1_1280

Making these succulents was in part a meditation on how much I’ve been missing the desert. I went to high school in Southern California, on the Arizona border in the Mojave Desert. It can be a miserably hot place, for sure. But as I slowly grew out of my moody adolescence, I came to realize what a beautiful place it is. Long walks in the evenings down my parents’ mile long dirt road and into the wash on the property. An entire summer spent volunteering with the local Bureau of Land Management office, venturing out in the early mornings before it got to hot to collect creosote seeds and participate in archaeological ground surveys.

Right now I’m living in Southeastern Ohio, where I was before my family moved west. It’s also a beautiful place, but I’m quickly growing tired of its cycle of being very cold then very humid, and the variety of issues associated with both. The biodiversity is interesting here, but otherwise it’s not terribly diverse at all. In short, I’m getting restless again after three years spent in the Appalachian Foothills. Perhaps I just need to crochet more succulents.

tumblr_odupuq3n6s1qbpubso1_1280

If you find yourself wanting a little bit of the desert where you are as well, all five of these cacti are now available in my shop. Two feature hand-dyed wool I reclaimed from an old sweater. One has yarn I both spun AND dyed (in fact, I upgraded the sole remaining cactus I had from my original series). The other two feature blends of three different yarns held together, creating bright and fun colorways. I’m pretty sure I’ll be making more, since those flowers were very addictive to create, as time consuming as they were.

What have you been up to lately?

Cheers, S.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Anita says:

    These cacti look great! Adore the flowers. 🙂

    1. srhclrk says:

      Thank you so much! ❤

  2. Olivia says:

    You’ve been making cacti and I’ve been making baked goods! I was on a diet, 😂

    1. srhclrk says:

      Fiber art pieces about things we miss! There’s an art installation in there somewhere. 🙂

Leave a Reply

