Mood Blanket

I’ve started crocheting a hexagonal block mood blanket. In May, my mom brought me a bunch of pretty acrylic yarn skeins in soft grey, creamy white, honey yellow, navy and cornflower blue from a rummage sale in California. I couldn’t think of a better opportunity to join the mood blanket trend that I missed out on when it first became very popular a few years ago. It will be baby or lap sized, so it’s not too much of a commitment. Right now I’m behind several days, but since I keep a running list of each day’s overarching mood, it’s not really a problem.

This blanket is proving useful in charting my mood swings and good and bad mental health days. I’ve come to realize that my 20’s have been considerably angstier that my teens, with the added stress of having to perform like an adult on both a daily and long-term basis. I also find myself idly worrying that my desired color combinations for the blanket may be impacting my behavior and feelings. It doesn’t seem to be an issue yet, anyway. Since I’m behind and not viewing the mood list more than once a day, I really don’t have to think about how the palette will play out all that much.

The pattern I’m following is essentially this:

Chain 4, slip stitch to join.
Chain 2 (counts as 1 dc), 1 dc,  *ch 2, 2 dc* five times, ch 2, slip stitch to join.
Chain 2 (counts as 1 dc), dc to first chain space, *dc into space, chain 2, dc into space* to complete corner, dc across to next chain space, complete corner, repeat until you come to the start of the round, slip stitch to join.
Repeat this pattern until there are 7 rounds in total, slip stitch to join and complete.

When joining hexagons together, I slip stitch into the loops on the reverse side behind the top stitches until I reach the next corner, then slip into the back loops along the borders of my live hexagon and those to which it’s being joined.

Really just loose instructions, but maybe they’ll give you an idea if you want to make a mood blanket of your own. There are definitely better written patterns and charts out there, but I’ll be happy to clarify anything if needed. Just let me know in the comments!

So far I’ve been very lazy about weaving in loose ends, unfortunately.

What have you been working on? Do you find yourself compelled to log your own moods in some creative way?

Cheers, S.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Olivia says:

    Since I am much older than you I have worked out most of those mood changes years ago and try to be. One of those “grow where I am planted” people. But last year as my daughter was fin her junior year at the university I became more anxious and even purposeless. Kind of like a boat tied too long to a bouncy dock or one let drift out to sea too long. I had been staying in Miami close to her and away from my home in New England too long. So I packed it all up, gave her the apartment to live in for her final year in school and came home. Mixed feelings since my husband is a lot of work. Thankless work (like when one has a toddler – feeding, laundry, cleaning up after, etc) while he works himself to death (men don’t seem to know how to pace things. But I digress..I came home and set up a craft room, complete with a Stash Corner. Then I set up a blog about knitting. It set my heart free and made it sing. Funny how one small thing can right the ship. But project manager that I am, I see all that lovely yarn as embryo projects. Since my kids are now having babies most of it is baby yarn so my moods run in pink and blue. But so many blogging knitters are young and making socks (which I had never made before) so I have joined the Hand Knitted Sock Revolution. Your blanket is beautiful. It’s lovely to be able to chart how you feel, you will one day look back and smile.

    1. srhclrk says:

      I’m so glad you found such great outlets! And that you’re knitting socks, because they really are such wonderful little gifts to yourself (in making them) and others (who receive them). 🙂

Leave a Reply

