Inspiration: Mi Cholita

I’ve spent the summer fascinated by Rolando Bruno, his music and, most significantly, his music videos. My partner showed me “Mi Cholita” shortly after it was released in May. “When is this from?” I asked, perplexed by the retro editing, psychedelic backgrounds and attention-grabbing cumbia. So colorful, so surprising, such a shake-up from daily drudgeries AND IS THAT A PERSON IN AN ALF SUIT IN MULTIPLE SCENES AND COSTUMES? It is, and I hope it warms your heart like it warmed mine (weird little organ that it is).

I wish that one day my own work will be as throwback, colorful and pleasantly shocking as this video.

Mi cholita, adónde vas, S.

Leave a Reply

