More Solar Dyeing

on

I spotted the first pumpkin beer of the season in the grocery store last week, prompting me to get back into solar dyeing before the weather cools down. The last few weekends have been extremely warm and lazy, creating a lull in my wanting to spend time outside (I’m bad about that these days), even if only for the few minutes required to set out a bowl of yarn and dye, rinse it, spin it and bring it back inside after drying.

So I jumped to it this weekend!

Saturday’s round used white alpaca recycled from a sweater, with blue, red and green dyes turning the yarn into something oh so unicorn-fabulous.

13694921_1782387798651340_1419989018_n

Sunday’s dye used light brown alpaca from the same sweater. I’ve been wanting to see how green and red take up with each other, especially on brown fiber. Not wanting to make yarn only usable for Christmas projects (I really wish red and green weren’t so strongly associated with the holidays), I included some purple as well. I really like the harvest feel of the resulting colorway.

13743218_323193564686394_338421692_n

What did you get up to this weekend?

Cheers, S.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. madgeface says:

    Oh boy, pumpkin-flavored season already? Soon pumpkin/pumpkin spice everything will be everywhere. This summer has flown by! I love both of your dyed skeins – I’m not sure I’d be able to pull off the different colors without making the whole skein a muddy mess. Kudos to you!

    1. srhclrk says:

      Thank you!! They really were just happy accidents, was never completely sure what would happen. And I spotted a few more pumpkin things over the past few days, yikes!

  2. Olivia says:

    Wow, that is beautiful yarn, you did a great job! It’s my birthday weekend so I’m up in Bar Harbor Manie checking out the yarn shop here (Bees Inc) and taking in the scenery, kayaking, hiking, sailing and having tons of lobster!

    1. srhclrk says:

      Thank you, and happy happy birthday! Your trip sounds absolutely amazing! I’ve not yet had the pleasure of going to Maine or eating lobster, so enjoy some for me. 😊

Leave a Reply

