Lace Stones Lately

I’ve been making a lot of single color lace stones lately, using crochet thread rather than my standard embroidery thread. It’s really interesting, how freeing it feels. For each piece, theย thread is spooled on its cardboard tube, so I don’t have to worry about it tangling up like embroidery thread does. Since I’m not changing color every round, I needn’t fret about weaving in loose ends (lazy!). And there isn’t a quiet anxiety over running out of the color with which I’m working, since I have a large quantity of that one color, all nicely spooled. With my multicolored pieces, I often try to use up leftover bits from other projects. Though thrifty, it does create an odd scarcity mindset. And it’s not like my supply is so skimpy. I have bags and bags of embroidery thread at this point, thanks to thoughtful friends and family.

13767440_277788755924067_1668130388_n

It’s just interesting, that being comfortable with your supply and technique allows for more exploration and intricacy. I will need to bring this same mindset back to my multicolored pieces, when I feel like working on them again. However, are these current lace stones too “safe?” Am I not taking enough creative risks with these monochrome ones?

There’s probably a life lesson in there somewhere. Or maybe just a lot of overthought.

Cheers, S.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Those are really pretty ๐Ÿ™‚ such teeny tiny stitches xxx

    1. srhclrk says:

      Thank you! They’re small, but I have done tinier! That gets pretty crampy very quickly, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I bet. You must have eyesight like a hawk too ๐Ÿ˜

Leave a Reply

