Crocheted Cactus Pincushions

I have wanted to make crocheted cacti for years and years. Once when I was still new to knitting and obsessed with knitted cupcakes, I made one very unfortunate specimen with an orange/yellow/red top and ribbed green bottom. Everyone assumed it was a cactus and not a delicious confection. I was crushed.

Last year, I fell in love with some itty bitty terra cotta pots at the dollar store (I tend to fall in love with a lot of things that only cost a dollar), and bought two packages with three pots in each, dreaming of using them to grow little plants last summer. Sadly, I was lazy, tired and unenlightened about how to actually grow things, so the pots were never used. UNTIL NOW.

12965003_872758522833388_2081765666_n

I was recently gifted a gallon-sized bag of  yarn balls, some of which were a pretty shade of green. I’m scheduled to set up at a local quilt shop for a garden party themed event in two weeks. The stars aligned and inspiration frothed over: adorable crocheted cactus pincushions that sewing-inclined individuals would surely appreciate absolutely must be included in my merchandise for this event.

They’re oddly addictive to make. Each is a simply ball, worked in the back loops to create semi-realistic ridges, with a cute embroidery thread flower gracing the top. When placed it a pot, the space at the bottom forms a neat little cubby one could store buttons, small spools or other notions. I really hope people like them, because I really want to make more than just the six that will use my original tiny flowerpots. I’d be okay for making a houseful.

I’d love to hear about what you’re currently obsessed with making!

Cheers, S.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. madgeface says:

    Those are so cute! I love it when a project comes together like that!

    1. srhclrk says:

      Thank you! I’m almost too excited to make many more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

